2002 Altars vinyl reissue

Discuss the legendary band Morbid Angel here. For twenty years The Chapel has connected the morbid fanbase online.
jawn galliano
Yahtzee Genius

2002 Altars vinyl reissue

Post by jawn galliano »

so, i bought this thing when it first came out and left it sealed all the while until today, as i finally gave in and bought a turntable. the sticker on the shrinkwrapping claims it to be an edition of 1000, and it is transparent blue. i'm new to the whole vinyl thing, so i'm looking for a bit of guidance here.

i'm just looking for some opinions from others who've heard this as well. was this pressing really bad, or what? all of the other records i bought sound great (including a tom waits album that's nearly 40 years old), but the altars one is really tinny and scratchy and just generally not good at all. the leads especially sound completely buried in the mix, like someone hid them out behind the shed and covered them with a wet towel or something. did i just do a poor job of storing it properly, or did i wait ten years to find out i got duped on this purchase, or what? if it's the latter, is there an edition that you'd recommend that sounds better than this one?

fwiw, i've had the atheist collection boxset similarly sealed and stored for almost as long, and it sounds perfect.
Abzu
Postwhore

Re: 2002 Altars vinyl reissue

Post by Abzu »

We need Tom up in this thread. :vahmpysignal:
ANGEL OF DESEASE wrote:the path of whoring is something wicked and grim, and very philosophical.
;,,;
deckard
Metal God

Post by deckard »

i have about 30 records now and in my limited experience some vinyl are pressed from the cd masters so they usually dont sound as good (compressed, undynamic)

most vinyl presses are from an uncompressed version of the album and usually sound completely different, i have a couple which are specific mixes for the vinyl and they are on another level.

i might be wrong but thats how i think it works!
Abzu
Postwhore