Programmers?

Shoot the shit with other metal folk. Free discussion on any topic that doesn't suit the other forums. Avoid mentioning carpet.
vO)))id
Metal God

Programmers?

Post by vO)))id »

I know some of you work in computer tech in one way or another.

I just started learning Python and was wondering if there are any other programmers here. Maybe also using Python?

I was never a huge fan of programming but figured this might be handy to learn for the future so just starting as a hobby with YT tutorials.

When I have a solid base in this I might want to also learn JavaScript but we'll see how it goes.

If you do use any of these languages; how are you using them?

:santa:
zim
Zim(a)

Re: Programmers?

Post by zim »

i've been working as a programmer for about 10 years now and have a degree in computer science :suss: sorry for the incoming wall of text..

when deciding to learn to program it's best to have some kind of goal in mind. a lot of people want to learn how to code but don't actually have a real use case for it. python is a good general use language that can solve a lot of problems. for example, i had a request recently where a client had a PDF which contained a few hundred pages and they wanted to sell this PDF to customers. to discourage unauthorized sharing, the client wanted each pdf to be watermarked on each page with a unique code. that's a lot of fucking work to do by hand. with python i was able to write a script that automatically applied a unique watermark to each page, the whole process now only takes a few seconds.

i had a music professor who did a creative experiment where he cut up the tape of a recording and then mixed it all up and taped it together randomly to get a bizarre song structure. i replicated that with python. i had a program read an audio file, randomly slice it up into intervals of a few seconds, and then randomize those slices and piece it back together. a silly program but it was fun.